Daum earns All-MWC status

Back-to-back Midwest Conference football titles has earned Monmouth College’s Chad Braun his third consecutive MWC Coach of the Year award in a vote of the league’s coaches. Two Fighting Scots were named the league’s South Division Most Valuable Players as Monmouth placed 14 student-athletes on the All-South Division list.

Braun – now in his third year guiding the Scots – earned the MWC South Division Coach of the Year award after leading Monmouth to a 9-1 regular season, posting the team’s first back-to-back league titles since 2008 and 2009.

The South Division first team were: sophomore Joe Krall (New Berlin, Ill./New Berlin), senior linebacker Kyle Schultz (Heyworth, Ill./Heyworth), senior offensive linemen Devon Brooks (Orange Park, Fla./Orange Park) and Logan Thiele (Pittsfield, Ill./Pittsfield); senior tight end Konnor O’Keefe (Tremont, Ill./Tremont); junior defensive linemen Lamar Watson (Pembroke Township, Ill./Momence) and Thomas Lesniewski (Algonquin, Ill./Marian Central); senior defensive backs Micam Smith (Annawan, Ill./Annawan) and Ryne Daum (Toulon, Ill./Stark County); junior running back DeAndre Wright (DeKalb, Ill./Momence); junior wide receiver Yansay Williams (Normal, Ill./West); and sophomore kicker Joey Biel (Spokane, Wash./Northwest Christian).

Smith – who earned his third all-league award – and Daum accounted for half the all-conference awards in the secondary. The tandem recorded 38 and 37 total tackles, respectively. Smith led the team with four interceptions, one more than Daum, a first-time all-league selection.
A business major, Smith is the son of Amy Rieder and Chad Imler. A business and economics double major, Daum is the son of Duane and Cheryl Daum, of Toulon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *