County seats new board, retains chairman and vice

The new Stark County Board was seated last Tuesday night, which meant saying goodbye and thank you to Dr. Thomas Schwerbrock and Andrew Jackson. New member Alan Curry could not be present due to a family reason.
Chairman Coleen Magnussen presented both outgoing board members with plaques thanking them for their commitment and service.

Next, the floor was opened for nominations for chairman of the newly seated board by County Clerk Linda Pyell. Bob Mueller nominated Magnussen to return to the chair position. Lynn Newton nominated Tom Howes.
Howes said, “I’ve thought a lot about this… but I should decline.” He added “Sure I’d love to have it, but it’s not the right thing at this point in time.”
Magnussen was approved in a 6-0 vote, six because there remains a vacancy on the eight person panel.
Coleen nominated and the board approved Mueller to return to vice chairman.
In other business the board approved several resolutions selling delinquent tax parcels; one in Osceola township for $301 and one in Goshen for $851.
The board also approved a new schedule of meetings. Meetings will continue to be on the second Tuesday of each month with the exception of February will occur on the first Tuesday and the April meeting will be Wednesday the 15th due to statewide town meetings on the 14th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *